My bum is thanking me…

I don’t know about you other lady cyclists out there, but when I’m on my road bike, it gets painful down there in my soft lady parts. When I first started biking, it didn’t bother me so much. But now that I’m riding more and more in tune with how it’s supposed to feel, it’s been quite painful lately. To the point that I can’t even ride 10 miles without feeling extremely uncomfortable and having my performance drop to pitiful levels. Something needed to be done, and quick.

Minh showed me some reviews for the Specialized Women’s Ruby Saddle, which generally said that the saddle is amazing and that women who used to be able to ride only 5 miles before feeling discomfort could now complete centuries without feeling a thing. This.. I had to try.

Went for a ride today with the new saddle. Let me tell you, it was AWESOME. It was like night and day compared to my old saddle. Yes, there was less cush and I was resting more on my sit bones (which is what you’re supposed to do anyway), but the intense hot pain that I usually get in my soft women parts didn’t come during the whole ride. As a result, my performance didn’t drop but was better than I’ve been lately. Minh was actually drafting off me for parts of the ride.  A feat which, in the past, was only conceivable if he was sick or had an off day. I’m going to credit that to the new saddle for now.. but secretly I’m hoping that my cycling abilities are actually improving. Here are some stats on the ride:

Trail: Out and back, Santa Ana River Trail from Warner Avenue to Weir Canyon Road
Total Distance: 33.52 miles
Total Time: 2:09:29
Average Speed: 15.6 mph
Average Cadence: 70 rpm

Minh also installed a cadence/speed sensor on my road bike that will work with my Garmin. This is so that I can start paying more attention to my cadence and getting it up to 85-90 rpm. It’s a bit distracting having all these things I need to pay attention to: heart rate, cadence, speed, hunger, muscle tightness, etc, etc.. I suppose eventually it will either become second nature or, with time, I’ll get good enough to not have to worry about those things. We’ll see how long that takes.

Dinner tonight pretty good. We had dinner with Minh’s dad at Au Lac Restaurant, a vegan restaurant in Fountain Valley. We had take out from there before, but never ate at the restaurant. Probably something I’ll never do again. The food is really good. Minh ordered Bun #35, which is a noodle dish with vermicelli noodles, eggrolls, BBQ “beef”, mixed greens (mints, lettuce, cucumber, bean sprouts), peanuts, and “fish” sauce. I don’t know why it’s called “#35”, since none of the other items on the menu are numbered, but I supposed there must be some story behind it. I ordered Dau Hu Xa Ot, which, in English, is tofu stir-fried with chili and lemongrass. I had this with steamed brown rice and broccoli. And the service is very friendly, but incredibly s-l-o-w. And it’s not the kind of slow that forgivable because you should be sitting and relaxing and enjoying your food and company. This kind of slow was beyond that.. it was to the point where you’ve run out of things to say to each other aside from comments/questions about where the waiter is. Service is definitely a make-or-break thing with me. But the food is good, so definitely try the takeout.

PICTURES:

One thought on “My bum is thanking me…

  1. Pingback: IT FITS! « Think Tran

Leave a Reply

