Bricks and Cooking Tris

If I reflect on my workout schedule (that I created, but don’t follow very well), I don’t have enough brick workouts. This is because even though I know I can run off the bike if I need to (i.e., during the race), I have low motivation to actually do it during training. Less than two weeks away from my first big “A” race for the year (Rohto Ironmane 70.3 California), and I’m deciding to change that… bring on the bricks. 

Last night, Minh and I opted out of the usual Wednesday night beginner/intermediate mountain bike raide with JD Kitty and Matthias from Team VeloSport. Instead, we did a quick spin down the Santa Ana River to the beach (PCH and Brookhurst) and back home. The wind was pushing us around a bit, which made for a slower ride, but also helped us work on our balance and ability to hold straight lines. After we got back, I went for a short, easy 3.5-mile run/jog around the park. It actually felt really good going for a light run right off the ride, better than it has in the past. This is probably a result of my awesome new riding position (thanks to Jim at Final Fit). Today, the bricks continue. After I get out of my training session for the day, I’m hitting the pavement for an 1-hour run before open-water swimming with the OC Tri Club at Big Corona (yay! Daylight Savings Time!).

After the run and dinner and American Idol Results show last night, I tuned in to the Food Network to watch a special episode of Dinner: Impossible

Chef Robert Irvine and his crew were heading out to Tempe, AZ, to cook a special meal for 300 VIP guests and athletes getting ready for the Ford Ironman Arizona. In the true spirit of triathlons, he had 8 hours to create three 3-course (appetizer, entree, and dessert) meals, eachwith a different theme, and each in its own specific kitchen. For the “swim” leg, everything had to cooked in water. For the “bike” leg, everything had to be cooked twice (because I bicycle has two wheels). And for the “run” leg, every course had to include legs (i.e., leg of lamb, chicken thigh, etc). Here’s a list of the dishes that were made:

Swim Kitchen:

  • Oysters Poached in Tomato Water
  • Mussels steamed in Tangerine-Mint Water
  • A variety of salads
  • Lemon-Ginger Poached Chicken
  • Shitake Poached Salmon
  • Steamed Oatmeal with Figs and Oranges

Bike Kitchen:

  • Twice-fried Tempura Shrimp
  • Fried Rice
  • Flank Steak with Twice Baked Fingerling Potatoes
  • Roasted pumpkin dessert of some sort

Run Kitchen:

  • Crabcakes with Corn Chowder
  • Sweet and sour Chicken Legs
  • Brazed Lamb and Orzo Salad
  • Hamhocks and beans
  • “Drumstick” dessert

I may have mixed up some of the menu items, and there are probably some that aren’t listed there, but I’m going from memory. A few of the recipes can be found online, but the majority of them aren’t listed. I guess I’ll just have to watch the episode again to learn how to make some of that stuff. Everything looked delicious, and at the end, it was declared that… “Chef Robert Irvine.. You are a Culinary Ironman!”

Leave a Reply

