Restaurant Review: The Bread Crumb Ohana Cafe

There’s a reason they call it “Lazy Sunday”…. when the temperatures start rising past 100°F, training goes out the window and “recovery” naptimes prevail. Originally, the plan was to go for a trail run and then head out to the SoCal Cross opener at Irvine Lake. Once we got out of church, the temperature was already unbearable, and I knew that I would last maybe one mile on the trails before succumbing to the inevitable whining and complaining. Minh didn’t want to spectate out at Irvine Lake, knowing from experience what it’s like to stand in one spot in the heat. Instead, we opted for brunch at The Bread Crumb Ohana Cafe and attempts to stay indoors.

The Bread Crumb is a small diner-style restaurant in the back corner of your normal strip-mall. If Minh didn’t suggest it, I probably would have never tried it out. I am so GLAD he suggested it. The place is small, with tables inside and outside on the sidewalk. The staff is amazingly friendly. The decor is standard for your local eatery: polaroids of customers on one wall, clippings from reviews framed here and there, autographed memorabilia from celebrities who have visited, pictures of what Huntington Beach looked like back in the day, a splash of tiki to tie in the Hawaiian theme. But the food…. AMAZING!

Wheaties.. Breakfast of Champions!!

Tiki Masks for the Hawaiian theme...

I’ve had a thing for biscuits’n’gravy ever since my gradschool research days in Virginia. Buttery, melt-in-your-mouth biscuits smothered in rich, creamy sausage gravy… what’s not to like about it?? (Unless you’re a vegetarian or suffering from Celiac‘s.. in which case.. stay away!). As of late, my biscuits’n’gravy trials at various restaurants have all come up lacking. The biscuits may not be quite up to par: too dense, too bland, too something not right…. The gravy will be a little lackluster: not enough sausage, not the right consistency… But it’s still my “go to” breakfast meal of choice… so when I saw it on the menu, I knew I had to order it. (Back in highschool, my “go to” diner meal of choice was chicken-fried steak.. I love things smothered in gravy).

mmm.. Biscuits'n'Gravy...

Minh ordered the Corned Beef Hash (was also good)

Let me just say that the biscuits’n’gravy at The Bread Crumb is THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD!!! This is coming from an Asian girl who only just discovered biscuits’n’gravy within the last 4 years (didn’t have the pleasure of grandma cooking it at home.. she probably doesn’t even know what biscuits are). I would definitely come back to try some other things from the menu, but now I know when I’m craving some biscuits’n’gravy to head here. I’ll never have to worry about sub-par biscuits’n’gravy ever again.

The Bread Crumb Ohana Cafe
19079 Beach Blvd
Huntington Beach, CA 92648
(714) 960-5051

One thought on “Restaurant Review: The Bread Crumb Ohana Cafe

Leave a Reply

