{tran sews} Reversible Knit Wrap Top

While I’m not one to do a lot of dressing up myself (it just takes forever for me to pick out something to wear that I feel comfortable in for the day… and then the time for hair and makeup? forget it!), I do have an appreciation for individuals who always seem very put together. Do they wake up like that? Do they have an amazing routine down tha makes getting ready in the morning just that much easier? Or do they get up SUPER early to spend the time to get presentable?

One such person with an amazing sense of style (that I am slightly jealous of, but could never pull of on a daily basis) is the lovely lady behind Gertie’s New Blog for Better Sewing. I love everything about her throwback style. I have her first book (Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing), though I haven’t made anything from it yet. My first project from her is the Butterick B6285 – Knit Wrap Top. Because it is self-lined, I decided to make it reversible – with a simple B&W pattern on one side (from an old Knit Fix bundle) and plain black on the reverse side. This way I can wear the pattern side with simple skirts, or the black side with patterned skirts. Pretty clever, right?

DSC_1326

I wore this to my godmother’s 60th birthday party on Valentine’s Day, paired with a Lapis Lace Pencil Skirt from Anthropologie (from many seasons ago – love that I can still wear with the baby belly, though not for much longer), black Cole Haan Prieta Pumps, and Emerson Foldover clutch from Oatmeal Lace. And while it took me longer to get ready than my usual 10 minutes of rolling out of bed.. it was well worth it for this special occasion.

Gertie has posted an easy to follow sew along on her blog, which came in handy while I was working through this. It’s not a particularly difficult project, but she has some good tips to make the whole thing go much smoother. I think next time, I’ll leave the ties the same length as the pattern, since these were pretty long and cumbersome to tie.

 

Leave a Reply

