Places: Georgetown Cupcake

I don’t watch THAT much TV.. and we recently got rid of our cable at home.. so I had NO IDEA what the big deal was about Georgetown Cupcake. All I knew what that there was a show and a lot of hype.

Film crew prepping in the shade.

Watching them film this scene showed me how contrived "reality" TV is.. she walked across the street TWICE!

Cupcakes seem to be popping up ALL OVER the place, even though they’re nothing new. I remember back in gradeschool, when my mom would bake cupcakes for me to share with my classmates on my birthday. Having gone to a small private school, birthdays were special because the birthday girl/boy was allowed “free dress” and all the kids ALWAYS got a cupcake. It would appear, though, that the simple birthday cupcake has evolved to be so much more these days.

Anyway.. We had some spare tickets from the Taste of Georgetown that was going on. Georgetown Cupcake had a booth there, but they were also redeeming tickets at their store (just a couple blocks away) for ANY TWO flavors of cupcakes. We had three extra tickets, plus a free one someone gave to us because they didn’t want to stand in line. That means EIGHT cupcakes!!! Just for ME (because Anni has Celiac’s and Minh doesn’t really care for sweets).

Line stretched WAY DOWN the block..

Can you spot Anni? The line was long, but the wait was worth it.

The bakery itself is pretty small. I had never seen so many cupcakes on display and on racks. It was pretty cool.

Cupcakes GALORE!

Cupcakes waiting to be served

I had low expectations for the cupcakes because I didn’t want to be disappointed if they didn’t live up to the hype. But.. I was very surprised at how DELICIOUS they were. The cake was moist and the frosting wasn’t overly sweet. Some flavor combinations where better than others, but all of them were good. What was really amazing about them was how they held up after traveling around DC (waiting for the DC Circulator in Georgetown, catching the Metro at Dupont Circle) and staying in the room overnight (near the A/C unit) and during the day (while we got ready for the wedding). I ate them more than 24 hours later without any refrigeration, and they still tasted amazing and had this perfect texture (cake and frosting both).

Cupcakes waiting for the Circulator

Cupcakes sleeping on the bus to Dupont Circle

Cupcakes visiting Hello Cupcake at Dupont Circle

Cupcakes waiting for the Metro to Bethesda

Here’s the rundown of the flavors I tried:

Clockwise from top left: Red Velvet, Pumpkin Spice, PB Fudge, Chocolate³, Salted Caramel, Mint Cookies and Cream, Key Lime, Maple

Peanut Butter Fudge: Valrhona chocolate cupcake with a fudge core topped witha peanut butter frosting and fudge star drizzle
The cake was delicious, and it had this AMAZING fudge core that just oozed chocolatey goodness. The frosting left much to be desired.. it generall tasted liked whipped up Creamy Jiffy.. so I was not impressed with that.

Key Lime: Fresh key lime cupcake with key lime frosting topped with a candied keylime
Tasted like the best key lime pie I have ever had, but in the perfect cupcake size.

Salted Caramel: Caramel cupcake with a salted caramel-infused buttercream frosting topped with a caramel drizzle
I’m a huge fan of salted caramel ANYTHING. This cupcake was no exception. What would have made this cupcake even more perfect is if there was a salted caramel core.

Pumpkin Spice: Pumpkin spice cupcake with a maple-infused cream cheese frosting topped with a fondant maple leaf
The cake was like a PERFECT spice cake with just a hint

Maple: Maple cupcake with a maple-infused cream cheese frosting topped with a fondant maple leaf
The maple cupcake wasn’t anything special (in terms of flavor). But it was good. If I just wanted a simple cupcake without anything too rich or fancy, this would be it.

Chocolate ³: Valrhona chocolate cupcake with a rich Callebaut chocolate ganache icing topped with french chocolate sprinkles
I think this one was my favorite. Like most girls, I LOVE LOVE LOVE chocolate.. and this cupcake did not disappoint. It was that perfect balance of rich chocolate flavor and light sweetness. The texture of the cake was moist and the ganache icing was the perfect way to top this.

Red Velvet: Classic red velvet cupcake with a vanilla cream cheese frosting topped witha red fondant heart
I’m not usually a fan of red velvet, but this one was really good. In fact.. Minh actually finished off the cake part (he didn’t care too much for the frosting) after I took my bite.

Mint Cookies and Cream: Madagascar bourbon vanilla cupcake baked with oreo crumbles topped with a mint oreo crumble-infused buttercream frosting
I didn’t get to try this one, but it looked (and sounds) delicious. Will need to try it whenever I head back to DC.

Generally speaking, I was very impressed with Georgetown Cupcake. It was well worth the long line (only 40 minutes) we waited in outside. And for those of you not willing to wait in line, there’s another location in Bethesda, MD.

Georgetown Cupcake
3301 M Street NW (corner of 33rd and M)
Washington, DC 20007
Mon-Sat: 10AM – 9PM
Sun: 11AM – 7PM

4834 Bethesda Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814
Mon-Sat: 10AM – 9PM
Sun: 11AM – 7PM

You can also ORDER ONLINE!

3 thoughts on “Places: Georgetown Cupcake

    • The reality TV thing is just entertaining.. or enraging (depending on what you’re watching). I’m not completely sure I understand the “new” cupcake craze either.. but I know that they’re delicious, and that’s really all the matters to me. 🙂

  1. Pingback: 2010: The Year in Review « Think Tran

Leave a comment